The Pun Also Rises: Going on a Pun Safari

I used to cringe when I heard a pun, like many people I thought they were one of the cheesiest forms of humor and I fancied myself dry and witty. Then I got my first magazine job and my boss would routinely call me into his office to help him come up with punny headlines for articles.

Over time I learned to enjoy this as a kind of a fun mental exercise for word geeks. Are puns the highest (or even most hilarious) form of humor? Most certainly not, but they take a certain amount of knowledge of the world we live in both past and present and a love of words and the idiosyncrasies  of the English language along with the desire to poke fun at things—in other words I was made to love puns I just didn’t know it.

So I was excited to see this video by John Pollack, the author of a book about puns called The Pun Also Rises: How the Humble Pun Revolutionized Language, Changed History, and Made Wordplay More Than Some Antics, as he goes on a pun safari in New York City.


Sadly his safari, in my opinion, missed tons of great pun gems. Two instantly spring to mind: Has Beans, the South Park Slope coffee shop I pass every day, and Doggy Style the pet grooming salon in Soho near my old office. So in my mind the gauntlet has been thrown. I will document a better punnier New York! Feel free to share your favorite puns that you’ve seen out in the world (in or outside of NYC)

2 responses

  1. […] find out that it translates into finding faces in inanimate objects. (I sense my next version of a pun safari coming on!) Here are a couple of amazing […]

  2. Remarkable things here. I am very satisfied to peer your article.
    Thanks so much and I’m looking ahead to contact you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

Leave a Reply

