Talk Derby to Me

I got a great New Year’s surprise this year: I am now a rookie member of the Gotham Girls Roller Derby Jeerleaders class of 2013. We went to a roller derby game (my first) this summer and I loved it so much that I wanted to be a part of it. Since I can’t make it up the hill on our street in my second hand roller skates, I knew competing was out of the question, but jeering (that’s right it’s jeerleading not cheerleading) seemed perfect for me.

I auditioned (learning a short dance routine) early last month along with about 15 other people, and I found our on New Years Day that I made it! I’m so excited! There is a party later this month where I find out what team I’m jeering for. But in the meantime I need to pick my derby name.

Derby names are usually punny (perfect for me right?) and sometimes a little violent. I’ve yet to come up with something I love. So that’s where you come in. Here are the names I’m thinking of so far: vote for your favorite or make your own suggestion.

And for your viewing pleasure,  here is a video of jeerleaders in action:

One response

  1. I like Kate Tastrophe best.

    I know I suggested Elektra Mayhem has well, but I think Electric Mayhem (which I also suggested) is actually better if you go that direction

Leave a Reply

