My favorite things on the Interwebs this week

A new, possibly regular, feature.

I read a lot of different things during the week, I’m always pinning, clipping things, planning to write about them or use them to inspire something else. Of course most of them remain clipped and forgotten. So here’s my own little best of the internet this week — good weekend reading that just may inspire a Katastrophic Thought or two.

  • Parents Naming Babies ‘Yoga’  ( Yoga Dork): There has been a trend for years of celebrities naming their kids ridiculous things, but now regular people are jumping on the bandwagon. A few they called out: Thinn (for the parents that have decided that their kid should have an eating disorder), Espn, and yes, Yoga. I decided long ago that in I ever have a boy I will name him Snuffleupagus, so I guess it’s OK, So long as you don’t want your kid to ever be president. Also how cute is “little baby Lupagus.”
  • My So-Called ‘Post-Feminist’ Life in Arts and Letters (The Nation): A revealing look inside the the outrageous sexism that she encounter in her career as a journalist and author. This example, towards the end of the article is the most telling:

    The Times’s obituary for Yvonne Brill, renowned rocket scientist, winner of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, leads with, “She made a mean beef stroganoff, followed her husband from job to job and took eight years off from work to raise three children. ‘The world’s best mom,’ her son Matthew said.”

    The past is not gone. Or as Faulkner wrote, “The past is never dead. It’s not even past.” Until it is, we should not be expected to get over it.

  • Stroke Patient To Get Wish, Will Meet Bob Seger (NPR) I have a special place in my heart for my homestate hero Bob Seger –I grew up on his music. But even if I wasn’t a fan, I’d still find this story a tearjerker. This woman woke up from a coma and asked to go to his concert–not only did he and the nursing home staff make the wish come true–she went there in a limo, had front row seats and got to meet him back stage.
    Photo: Long-time fan and stroke survivor Evie Brennan got her first wish when she awoke from a five-year coma: the 79-year-old asked to meet Bob Seger. And at last night’s show at The Palace of Auburn Hills, her wish came true…
  • Yoga Project Changes Lives In Nairobi’s Slums (NPR). I’ve been saying it for years–yoga is good for what ails you. And this story of how yoga is helping life people out of poverty, and give them hope or even just a little bit of peace is really inspiring.
  • And finally, if ever there was a show-stopping argument for marriage equality: this from NPR’s StoryCorps:  Adoptive Dad Dreamed A Dream That Brought Him A Son. It always gets me to hear the story of a child and dad who have such a loving relationship, how could anyone say this couple didn’t “deserve” to be parents?
Leave a Reply

