In a Sea of Commencement Inspiration: This is Water

Last year I wrote about my love of commencement addresses, and gathered a few of my favorites. And while J.K. Rowling’s speech is still high on my list. I mean, this is just fantastic:

“I was set free because my greatest fear was realized. Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life. It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not lived at all, in which case you fail by default. “

This graduation season, I’m putting together a lot of great inspirational advice for entrepreneurs (more on that later). And so while I’m neck deep in hopeful platitudes, I came across this beautiful short film that was created from part of David Foster Wallace’s 2005 commencement speech at Kenyon College.

I stumbled upon it randomly while doing research and within less than a day it’s gone viral, and rightfully so – as Wallace says, it covers “the large parts of parts of adult life that no one talks about in commencement speeches, the parts filled with boredom and petty frustrations.”

The film beautifully illustrates his speech and how, “The most obvious and important realities are often the ones that are hardest to see and talk about.”

If you haven’t already, do yourself a favor and watch it now.

One response

  1. Amazing commencement speech! It hits the nail on the head…and it brought a tear to my eye!

Leave a Reply

