It would be dishonest to promise you that I’ll always be the perfect wife

One year ago today, on a hot and sunny day in a beautiful garden on a small lake in Michigan, many of the people I love most in the world gathered to watch me promise my life to the most amazing man I’ve ever known.

We are in Jamacia right now celebrating our anniversary, but I thought it would be appropriate on this day to share the promises I made to him a year ago. The promises that I will keep making every year for the rest of our lives:

My wedding vows

For a long time it didn’t seem like I’d ever find someone who would love me enough to want to put up with me forever. And for a long time I didn’t. And even when I met you, I didn’t think “this is the man I will one day marry.” I had to discover that, we had to discover it together.

But, discovering that you are in fact that man, truly getting to know you, sharing both hard and joyful times with you, and falling in love with you, has been the biggest and best surprise of my life.

Finding that not only is there someone who will love me enough to want to put up with me forever, but being ready to recognize it once it was here is one of the most important things I have ever done.

Saying “I Love You” doesn’t feel like it does it justice. You inspire me to want to be like you are—more patient, more kind.  You make me feel special and loved, and so safe. And you make me feel luckier than I ever thought I could be.

It would be dishonest to promise you that I’ll always be the perfect wife, and I don’t expect you to be a perfect husband. But that’s OK, I don’t want the perfect marriage. I want you, I want us, I want our marriage and our lives together. I want all the imperfections that make us so perfectly suited for each other.

I’ll promise you instead to like you even when you act unlikeable, and love you even when it’s hard. I promise to keep no secrets from you, I promise to be your biggest fan, I promise to remind myself how lucky and proud I am to be your wife and to be a part of your family.

And I make these vows to you:

I will value you as an individual, a partner, and an equal.
I promise to laugh with you when times are good, and support you when times are bad.
I promise to love you, to respect you, to listen to you, and to see you as the extraordinary person that you are.
Even as time and life change us both,

I will choose to share all of myself and my life with you.

2 responses

  1. kotikojafaridze | Reply

    Reblogged this on kotiko jafaridze.

  2. kotikojafaridze | Reply

    Reblogged this on kotiko jafaridze.

Leave a Reply

