Awesome Things I Reccomend For An Awesome Week

I’ve dabbled in sharing my current obsessions in the past (In September I was loving my inspirational friends, creative writing advice, and cute puppies, and in January I was recommending my friend’s music, Mental Floss‘ dissection of  a 1984 Apple commercial, and cute kitties)

This week I’m back at it and again contemplating making this a more regular feature (just as soon as I get to posting regularly). Here are a few of my current obsessions:

1. Paul Simon Singing Me & Julio on Sesame Street with an amazing little girl who added her own verse.
Yes, I’m about 40 years late on this one. But this was a previously undiscovered gem for me recently. I was flipping through the excellent book Sesame Street: Unpaved when I read about it and imediatly found the clip on You Tube. I’ve been listening obsessively ever since. Enjoy:

2. My new mini trampoline
It was a random impulse purchase last month when I was in the heaven that is a suburban Target. It was $40 and it worth every penny. We don’t really have anywhere to store it and the novelty might wear off at some point, but for now. I’m having great fun. See evidence below:

IMG_9973

3. Jim Henson’s Creature Shop Challenge
I’ve pretty much grown past most reality TV that I used to watch, but last week Mark got me hooked on a new show: Jim Henson’s Creature Shop on the Sci-fi Channel (I refuse to spell it SyFy because that’s just dumb). The “drama” is thankfully kept to a minimum and it’s just a really interesting look at how amazing puppets are brought to life. They are all so amazingly talented that I never think people should be sent home.

4. She’s the First and Levo League .

I did a live chat on Fast Company earlier this month about the importance of mentorship for women in all stages of their careers with the founders of these two awesome companies. She’s the First sponsors girls in developing countries to be the first in the families to go to college, and Levo League helps young women get career advice and mentorship.

One response

  1. I love that Paul Simon Sesame Street video! I just shared it with my wife who teaches students downtown in Oklahoma City. I love the improv creativity – thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

